British Empire Info

Identifying different parts of the British Empire

Two Parts of the Empire

There are two key elements to the British Empire: first, the one that focused on the America settler colonies (aka the Thirteen Colonies) which gained independence from Britain in 1783 and second, that which was a spinoff from the first, in particular India, was mainly Victorian and gained other regions during the Napoleonic Wars and throughout the 19th century and early 20th century.

Most people – when referring to the British Empire – refer to the second part when showing an interest in the British Empire.  Still, when studying the British Empire, it is important to be able to make the distinction between the two parts.

In general the two entities cover the time span of approximately between 1497 and 1997 – a 500 year concurrence.